Users and permissions
To log in you must allow cookies (allowed by default in the Security settings of your browser). If you have forgotten your password you can have it reset and sent to your given email address by clicking I forgot my password!
at the login prompt. For security purposes you are automatically logged out after two hours of inactivity.
There are three permission levels: Administrator, Assistant and Contributor. The user created from the details given in the install or upgrade script is automatically made an Administrator.
- Administrator: Complete control over all features of the Writer's Block installation. Can create, edit and delete anything.
- Assistant: Can create, edit or delete any blog posts, Anypages and categories, as well as moderate comments.
- Contributor: Can create blog posts, Anypages and categories, but can only edit or delete blog posts, Anypages and categories they created.
Only an Administrator can create new users and edit or delete existing ones (even other Administrators). The only things an Administrator cannot edit are a user's Username and Password.
A special consideration is Mini-Blog permissions. Any user can create a Mini-Blog, but only the creator can add new posts, edit or delete existing ones, edit the Mini-Blog's settings or delete the Mini-Blog. This is so that Mini-Blogs can be used as wholly private blogs with free rein.
Back to top